5 Brands That I’ve Tried

Hey guys! Today I thought I’d give you a brief run down of a few brands of dye that I’ve used over the years.

1) Bleach London (from Boots)

IMG_1163

10164987_-_washed_up_mermaid_grande

Like with the bleach product I reviewed in my last post, I think the bleach London dyes are kind of overrated. I love the preview colour of this (the image above). The dye smells lovely, and you get a lot of product in the bottle. But, ultimately, I was disappointed in this product as my hair just had a slight greeny tint after using it. I feel like to get this dye to work well, you need absolute white hair, which is not an easy colour to get. A really nice range, but possibly not for at home bleachers like me!

2) Directions (from a Amazon)

IMG_1166
This is definitely my ride or dye (haha). But for real I use this dye almost every time I dye my hair, and no matter what I try I always go back to it. The colour lasts 2/3 washes on me, which is average for semi-permanent dye. Having used this in a few colours (red, blue, pink, purple…) I’ve always found it’s pigmented, a nice texture, and is pretty true to the colour chart in terms of what colour your hair turns after using it. I definitely recommend!

3) Crazy Color (from Amazon)
IMG_1165
This is a dye I’ve used a few times. It’s pretty good colouring on the hair. The only reason I don’t use this is that I find the texture of the dye so awkward. It feels almost similar to shampoo, and sucks back into the bottle when you try to get it out. So I find this texture slightly harder to work into the hair. But overall this isn’t a bad dye and I would recommend it.

4) Manic Panic (from Amazon)
IMG_1167
Guys, I was so disappointed in this dye! I bought it ages ago when I had red hair because I heard Hayley Williams used it, and her hair looked so bright all the time. It was a good colouring when I used it, but it’s so hyped up. I think it’s equally as good as Schwartzkopf, possibly as good as Directions. But that’s just me, and I’ve only ever used it in red.

5) Schwarzkopf (from Boots)
IMG_1168

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This dye does what it says it will! I used this in purple, thinking it wouldn’t be that bright. (I don’t know why ‘Ultra Brights’ didn’t give me a clue).  I added conditioner to it in an attempt to tone it down a bit, and my hair went such a bright pink. I hated the colour but, in fairness to the brand, it was so bright, well coloured and pigmented. So I do recommend this, just don’t make stupid assumptions like I did!

So that’s my recommendations for a few at home, semi-permanent dyes. I feel like I could definitely do an entire post for each of these individually, so if that’s something you guys are interested in then let me know down below. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

